Pitching a No-Hitter and Coach Pulls You?

It Takes Guts to Pitch
August 1, 2010
Chapman Throwing 105 mph but…
September 9, 2010

How do you think you would feel if you were on the mound throwing a no-hitter into the seventh inning in the Major Leagues and your coach pulls you out of the game?  That is exactly what happened today when Twins manager Ron Gardenhire pulled Kevin Slowey off the mound after 106 pitches. Was the manager in the wrong stripping a possible no-hitter from a pitcher that may never get a chance to have that opportunity again?

Sometimes, regardless of the situation, coaches have to make decisions that are difficult, yet correct decisions.  Too often in super League tournaments you hear of kids throwing a ridiculous amount of pitches in a given day or week.  Most leagues have rules for pitchers only allowing 3 maximum innings pitched each day throughout tournament play, but some don’t take into consideration how many pitches some of these young athletes actually throw and how much damage, regardless of how awesome their pitching mechanics are, how damaging this can be on a throwing arm.

Coaches are out there to win we can understand that.  But to jeopardize a young pitchers arm by overthrowing them when you know better is simply bad coaching.

If Major League starting pitchers don’t like their pitch count over 100 a game, (and they are usually on a five day rotation) why do some coaches allow little league pitchers to throw over 100 in a game, two days in a row?  It just boggles the mind.  It is important to develop many pitchers on your team so when tournament play comes you can save the arms of the stars so they can continue to shine when it counts.

To learn more about the smart coach that pulled the pitcher with a no-hit game going in the seventh click on the article below:



Pin It on Pinterest

Share This